POV DISCUSSION: Pride and Prejudice Episode 1 & 2 (Korean Drama)

vlcsnap-2014-10-29-21h13m29s115

NEW FOUND LOVE!!! I was excited for K-drama Pride & Prejudice, but I never expected it to be anything like this, or this good. The first two episodes totally blew me away and I just want Monday to quickly come right now.

The description for the drama was very general, and pretty vague, so I didn’t know what to expect from it – and I’m totally surprised that it’s much better than whatever I expected. I love all the casts – and it’s a total blessing for me to have Choi Jin Hyuk, Lee Tae Hwan, Choi Woo Shik and even Choi Min Soo all in one drama. AND I LOVE BAEK JIN HEE!

I’m not going to do recaps for the first two episodes, not sure if I will be doing any recaps – but I do hope someone will do them!!! I’ll just post some screencaps and do a short discussion~

THOUGHTS & DISCUSSION

vlcsnap-2014-10-29-21h12m45s186vlcsnap-2014-10-29-21h12m52s252vlcsnap-2014-10-29-21h12m50s229Han Yul Moo and Koo Dong Chi ‘date’ each other for 10 months and Yul Moo ‘confessed’ to him. However, she saw that slip above and was shocked. I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THAT IS!!! If anyone of you know, please let me know. I just hope that it’s not some birth certificate or something, because the last thing I need from a drama is a birth secret. No right? It’s not right???

Anyway, we started off the first episode, knowing that they dated before and there is a certain grudge each of them have against each other. At this point of time, we know that Yul Moo is trying to find out something about Dong Chi, I’m not sure what. However, it seems that she joined his team, or decide to live with him – for this purpose. To get close to him, and to find out whatever she’s trying to find out.

Dong Chi, on the other hand, doesn’t know the reason behind why Yul Moo suddenly left back then – and maybe there are still some things which happened, which we don’t know yet. However, it seems like Dong Chi still has lingering feelings for Yul Moo.

vlcsnap-2014-10-29-21h12m01s255vlcsnap-2014-10-29-21h12m11s96I can’t wait to see how the love triangle will form out – because I’m totally rooting for both guys. AHAHAHAHAHA.

Kang Soo looks like he is interested in Yul Moo, and I don’t know how close Kang Soo and Dong Chi are, but both are going to battle it out for Yul Moo’s heart and I’m all ready to see it unfold. We’re not getting there yet, we’re only in the second episode – but I just cannot wait for it to happen. THAT TENSION.

vlcsnap-2014-10-29-21h13m24s61vlcsnap-2014-10-29-21h13m33s151vlcsnap-2014-10-29-21h13m36s179Anyway, both of them came back and saw Yul Moo at the boarding house… and….vlcsnap-2014-10-29-21h13m41s229vlcsnap-2014-10-29-21h13m42s243She’s moving in.

I love her approach to just being there, sipping the can of beer and casually saying to live together with a smile on her face. It feels as though she is flirting, but we know that she might have a hidden motive in wanting to stay there – maybe because she couldn’t find what she wanted from Dong Chi in the office, thus may try to move in and look for it there.

The biggest question, really, is WHAT IS THAT SLIP OF PAPER – AND WHY IS SHE SO UPSET, AND WHAT IS SHE TRYING TO FIND???

That mystery itself is keeping me invested, but not just that. Baek Jin Hee has amazing chemistry with both leads, and I just don’t know how to explain it.

Oh – and it’s a total plus, that the crimes – even though pretty simple stuff so far, doesn’t seem ‘boring’ or ‘lame’ -because in a way, we get to see how newbie prosecutor Yul Moo tries to deal with the cases. Studying may be easy for her, but doing the job itself is probably not as easy as the textbook. She has a lot of room to grow as a prosecutor.

Moon Hee Man is pretty mysterious himself. We don’t know why he chooses to be a department head, and there seems to be something going on between him and Jung Chang Gi.

So basically, I loved the first two episodes and I hope it continues to stay this way. As long as no birth secrets is involved. Hah. Oh and the love triangle, Bring it on. Better still, since they are all living together, I WANT MOREEEE INTERACTIONS 🙂 🙂 🙂

13 thoughts on “POV DISCUSSION: Pride and Prejudice Episode 1 & 2 (Korean Drama)

  1. Thanks for the discussion space for Pride and Prejudice. Can i say how much i adore this drama as well? I was totally hooked from ep 1.

    On paper, i wasn’t too keen on Choi Jin Hyuk and Baek Jin Hee as the OTP though i love them both individually. Choi Jin Hyuk seems a tad too mature for Baek Jin Hee but after these 2 ep, i’m totally sold. *cue Dido’s White Flag* *sssqqquuueeeaaallllll* Their chemistry is just so palpable. Whether they’re glaring at each other in annoyance or Dong Chi trying to get under Yul Moo’s skin, the air practically crackles with electricity. I just want them to rip off each others clothes. *rawr?*

    Back track to ep 1, i was swooning when Kang Soo threw himself at Yul Moo to block her line of sight from the flasher. The act was over the top but i got suckered into it. lol And Choi Jin Hyuk’s abs…..*blubbering mess of goo on the floor* He’s got the perfect inverted triangle torso. Coupled with that voice. *eek*

    And in ep 2, their flashback first date is just too cute. I love Yul Moo’s brass and spunk. I know Baek Jin Hee would do a good job being the tough heroine (as proven in Triangle), so here’s hoping the writer does not give YM a personality swap in the second half of the show as most are prone to do.

    It is such an agony to wait a whole week for the next ep. I just can’t believe it when i got to the end of ep 2. I thought…you’ve got to be kidding me…don’t leave me hanging….*whimper*….and when i saw the preview for ep 3…..i just had to go back and rewatch ep 1. Both eps will probably be on repeat for me till monday. sigh…please arrive quickly.

    I’m sorry if it sounds like i’m incoherent and my thought are all over the place. I’m having trouble putting into words all my feels for this wonderful gem of a show.

    Oh and that slip of a paper, {MAYBE SPOILER}
    i read on soompi that both YM and DC each has one half of a death cert and that death points to YM’s brother. I think that OP is right. It would explain alot about YM’s about turn from falling in love to despair and running away to her present declaration of revenge.

    I can’t wait for DC and YM to fall in love all over again. I hope that they would wrap up their issues quickly and we get to have more kisses. Surely MBC wouldnt take the cowards way of staying safe and prudent, right?….right???…..wait….they’re not going to literally follow the drama’s title right? nnoooo……..i want more kisses for YM and DC! I demand kisses!!

    1. As for me, I already love CJH and BJH both and all in this drama from beginning for their chemistry. And it’s really up to my expectation :))) Feel like in that first 2 ep no scene was boring or wasted. Hope later eps can keep it up.

      Though I don’t like Kang-soo much, I like the way both him and Dong-chi said “It’s like explosion” :))) And did you guys watch ep 3 preview? I laughed and just wonder to myself “Is he maybe drunk?” when Dong-chi said “Is it because you ate Grandma’s food? You’re pretty” :)))

      I think we’ll have to be patient for the secret, as they never reveal quickly :

      By the way, anyone cares ’bout rating too? I was surprised with P&P came 1st with 11% both eps, and Cantabile Tomorrow’s was only 6% (as a fan of J-ver I don’t watch it but suppose its rating be better.

      Last but defininely not least, thanks for your post ^^ Looking forward to joining you next weeks :>

  2. OMGWAD. THANKS FOR YOUR AWESOME THOUGHTS :)))))))))
    I love spazzing together. AHAHAHAHA.

    And yes, I heard about that piece of paper and it’s driving me nuts. Maybe he was the prosecutor in charge of her brother’s case, or maybe her brother was a victim of something, and the culprit got away free. Whatever it is, it’s going to be the reason why Yul Moo will not readily go to DC.

    AND YES I HOPE THEY QUICKLY GET OVER IT, AND GET TOGETHER. MORE KISSES, AND MOMENTS PLEASEEEEE.

    And AHAHAHA Kang Soo throwing himself to cover her was hilarious, and so over – but totally cute to watch.

    I EXPECT MORE CUTE MOMENTS SINCE SHE’S MOVING IN, AND LET’S HOPE DRAMA DOESN’T DISAPPOINT 🙂

  3. Jinnie!! (Mind if i call you that?),
    have you watched ep 3 yet??? Have you seen the preview for ep 4??? *sssqquuuueeeeeee!!* *kyyaaaaa!! kyaaaa!!*

  4. I really want to watch this cause everyone is saying how amazing it is O_o. I don’t know should I wait for more episodes or just start watching it now????

    1. Hmmm…. I like it a lot, but you never know about future episodes. I hope it doesn’t get bad though :/ I would say… read some recaps, and if you like what you read, maybe you can give it a try?

  5. Are y’all still watching? Oh it is so very, very good! Just finished episode 9 last night and my mind is still replaying scenes and dialogue. I’m not being specific bcs don’t want to spoil! The acting is superb! Quick, flashing, subtle, completely transparent for their characters–who are complex and fully alive, in an excellent story. I’m babbling, right?! But when something is this good there’s no way talking about it can do it justice–yet one wants to share! I’m happy knowing that there are others who love it, too.

    1. YES YES YES I’M STILL WATCHING 🙂 Just didn’t have time to update. AND THE TWIST. LIKE OMGWADDDDD. I REALLY WANNA TALK AND SPAZZ ABOUT IT BUT I’ve been so busy with work. Meh 😦

  6. Did you end up finishing Pride and Prejudice? I could not get past episode 10. If you think it was worth it definitely let me know because I want to give it a chance, but with Pinnochio and Healer still having new episodes come out I don’t know if it’s worth my time.

    1. I havent been catching up either xDD unlike the beginning, the drama starts to get boring and i miss the intial otp moments and sizzling chemistry.

Leave a comment