The Final Review: One Warm Word Episode 20

vlcsnap-2014-03-01-01h29m56s135

One Warm Word has ended – and can it be any sweeter?

I loved this drama from the beginning up till the very last second, and I have nothing but praises for it. I would say it’s one of the most thoughtful drama I’ve watched in recent years. It plays with your beliefs and your ideals – and it’s really enjoyable.

I think the key to fully enjoying the drama is that you have to be open-minded, because this drama plays a lot with perspective. What you think is right, others might disagree. You have to accept this – then you’ll be able to enjoy the drama.

Honestly, when I started this drama, I never expected it to be this good. I thought it will be full of cat-fights and melodramatic but I’m still awed by how this drama is nothing like that and is just sweet and heart-warming.

vlcsnap-2014-03-01-01h33m56s231vlcsnap-2014-03-01-01h33m52s193We have sort of a time jump, and we see that Eun Jin and Sung Soo are living well together. I had actually hope that she was pregnant though. Hah. You know…since Yoon Jung wanted a younger sibling? It’s nice to see how they went through so much, and now still together, with a stronger bond and happier than before.

vlcsnap-2014-03-01-01h38m23s83vlcsnap-2014-03-01-01h38m24s92So after spending some time apart, Mi Kyung and Jae Hak decides to stay married and WOW, we finally see the kids back home. The kids are pretty cool with the whole separation thing – which is kind of funny in a way, but who cares? It’s nice.

vlcsnap-2014-03-01-01h30m40s59Mi Kyung and Eun Jin meets to settle things once and for all.

vlcsnap-2014-03-01-01h32m23s66vlcsnap-2014-03-01-01h32m13s226vlcsnap-2014-03-01-01h32m27s109vlcsnap-2014-03-01-01h32m34s181Somebody, save me from this cuteness. Hahahaha. I’m actually glad that Min Soo & Eun Young have an open ending – because a break-up, or marriage would both be a little burdensome to the storyline. It’s too heartbreaking to see them break-up, yet too rushed to see them get married.

FINAL COMMENTS

I thought the ending was good. If I would point out one part which doesn’t satisfy me, it would be Jae Hak’s scene in the car when his secretary told him that he want to give back his book. Jae Hak replied that its already in his heart. So…I’m thinking that what he meant was that he buried Eun Jin in his heart. Right?

I think Eun Jin and Jae Hak did love each other. For that moment. It’s a mutual attraction, when both of them were emotionally drained from their marriage, and they felt excited and felt the romance. Do you think it’s possible to love only one person in a lifetime? I don’t know, really. 

I think love comes in different forms. Obviously, when I was younger, I thought that love is just for that one person – people call it true love. As I grow up, I think…love is just a word. It’s a strong emotion you feel towards someone, and it differs from one person to another. Of course, everyone has their own definition of what love is.

Living together, or being married definitely takes more than just love. It requires hard work and both individuals to do things together. There must be trust, mutual understanding, respect and one of the most important thing – communication.

No matter how much you love each other, or don’t really love each other, no marriage is safe without those. We see this in the drama with Mi Kyung-Jae Hak and Eun Jin-Sung Soo. Eun Jin and Sung Soo loved each other a lot and got married – yet they had affairs. Mi Kyung and Jae Hak didn’t really have a passionate love relationship, and they still face marriage issues.

A marriage doesn’t work with just feelings alone. It needs maintenance.

Another thing the drama talked about was choices. Everything is in our hands – we make our own choices. A different choice, might have a different outcome.

Let’s say Sung Soo never forgive Eun Jin, and Eun Jin gets depressed or something, and Jae Hak is concerned. If at that point of time, Jae Hak decides to help Eun Jin, things would have changed drastically. I’m glad drama didn’t go makjang on me, but it was all a matter of choice.

If Eun Jin didn’t get over her guilt, and never accepted Sung Soo back, things would have change too.

There was also a scene where Sung Soo told Eun Jin to just stay still and not try to do anything regarding Eun Young. He’s right. Things which are beyond your control, let it be. There’s nothing you can do, so stop trying to do something. She can’t change what Eun Young feel towards her, she can’t change what happened, she can’t make them be together – there’s nothing she can do. The only thing she can do is to stay still, and let Eun Young decide.

Overall, I think I took a lot of insights from this drama, and it was a really nice drama. It makes me wonder about what makes a marriage, what breaks it, and how different choices brings about different results.

Last but not least the characters were awesome and they all shine in their own way 🙂

Thanks to everyone who has been reading my POV DISCUSSION and I hope you enjoyed the drama as much as I did, and loved the ending too 🙂

13 thoughts on “The Final Review: One Warm Word Episode 20

  1. Love reading your reviews on One Warm Word! I felt and thought the same way as you did. I also gain a lot insights and meaningful thoughts from this drama about man, woman, relationship and marriage. For me, One Warm Word is one of the k-drama I’ve ever watched. Superb cast, superb lines, superb characters!

  2. Thanks so much for completing the series with your POVs and for loving it! 🙂 It was indeed a thought provoking drama on marriage/relationships, trust, love (as it evolves in relationships), forgiveness….
    I wholeheartedly agree with your statement:
    “Living together, or being married definitely takes more than just love. It requires hard work and both individuals to do things together. There must be trust, mutual understanding, respect and one of the most important thing – communication.”
    Blessings from a Han Hye Jin fan! ^^

  3. I am only half way on this drama & I just cannot wait so I jump to read this recaps to get the ending before I continue with the rest …. haha…ok I got it… Tks for the recaps …marriage is one hard journey n need a lot of trust & mutual understanding. The ability to forgive and pick up the broken pcs is vital to keep a relationship going… tks again..yeap I enjoy Korean drama very much!!!!

  4. I’m really glad that there’s someone else was thinking the same as me. I know that not many people fond of this drama but I am definitely a fan. I’ve been re-watching these back and forth for more than three times, I think. I am LSW’s fan, and originally I watched it because I saw the teaser and I kind of liking HHJ and this is my first drama of JJH so I wasn’t expecting much from him.

    Thank you for the recaps, actually its hard to find reviews for OWW when it was airing, and I’m glad to read it all after finished my so-many-times re-watching recently. I really hope others will enjoy it as much as I do. I even ‘forced’ my friends to watch it by explaining to them scene-by-scene.LOL

    This drama has made me thinking a lot and cried a lot. I was really immersed with the characters and it touched me, no matter how many times I watched it. And of course, I’ve been nodding along with what you’ve written.heh.

    I’m with you when you said that you glad that this drama didn’t go makjang on us. thank God. I’m usually very irritated with makjang plot and I’m happy they don’t have it here.

    Afterall, salute to all casts and the writers and director for this very thoughtful and insightful drama. The lines was very wise and it never makes me cringe (as I tend to be off for cheesy and nonsense dialogue).

    Thank you so much for the good reading. I’m happy that I can finally read the complete review for these series. (^_^)

    1. Thanks for the sweet words 🙂 hahaha. And I know right, the feeling of wanting others to share our happiness on how awesome this drama is?! It’s definitely a hidden gem!

  5. I’m a late comer and I love this drama too. I just love seeing HyeJin and Sangwoo on the screen. They make a fine couple with their beautiful daughter. This is the second drama I love of HyeJin since Terroir 2008.
    Like you it wish that she was pregnant. It would then be a very very happy viewing from me.

    1. 🙂 Yup, it’s one of the best dramas she acted in, and one of the best dramas of recent times as well.

  6. I’m only on the 5th episode haha, but I’m glad to see they worked things out (I tend to skip to the ending because I want to see how it ended and then watch the whole thing to see how it worked out-I do the same thing with books). It honestly opened my mind more about relationships. I personally relate to this drama because I’ve gone through the same thing. I was someone in Min Kyung’s shoes. I thought she was crazy, but I realized I had acted the same way she did (like literally-except for hiring someone to snoop on them). My husband and I ended up working things out. We’ve been together 5 years and married for 3 and now have a baby boy. I think people can change if they really wanted to. I know now for sure our marriage is better because we decided to work things out together.

    1. Glad to hear that 🙂 Yup people can change if they set their minds to it – and marriage takes a lot of work from both parties. Stay happy and bless you!! ^^

  7. Hi Leejin,

    Never the late, I happened to watch this show now liked your blog and posting my thoughts about the drama 🙂
    After watching the drama, at the end I really got a question. What is love?

    My review and understanding on the drama:
    To me JH and EJ so called love does not seem like a love, its just an attraction, I am sure if these 2 might have considered to get back they might have failed as a couple and then realised it was not love. JH would have definitely missed MK 🙂

    For happiness of a family, a married couple will have to control their desires,emotions and compromise to situations. Any compromise can be done to an extent and to a limit. But I cant agree to the point of loving someone else because you are unhappy with your spouse, and behaving all normal. Its strange that JH admits he loves EJ but want to live with MK??? Just because she fulfills her role as a wife,mother and DIL?? So he wanted her to be with him like a robot ?? I am glad she expressed her feelings clearly and asked for divorce.

    Few points which are unclear to me:
    1. Why did Eun Jin want to break off with JH? Was it because of the threat letters she had been receiving?
    2. And if EJ did not ask to breakup, JH would have continued the secret love with EJ keeping MK in the dark? And would he have stopped this affair if he knew Mk is aware of this?
    3. What is Mk exactly to JH, few times he said he loves her. But did he really ever love her? Atleast in the last 2 episodes did he have change of feelings or was he still thinking of EJ and trying to woo MK?
    4. Did EJ love JH or it was her attraction?
    5. If EJ did not ask to break up, and after MK asked JH for divorce and if EJ’s sister was not in the picture I am pretty sure JH might have gone back to EJ.

    My view about a marriage, Every couple on earth has issues, if one is not happy they need to communicate and go for a counsellor. I cant take the point of seeing some else and justifying it. A marriage cant work out of pity, lack of trust.


    Sapna

Leave a comment