POV DISCUSSION: Dr. Stranger Episode 1 – 2 (Review)

vlcsnap-2014-05-12-16h45m01s132

Alright! I watched this yesterday and I have mixed feelings about it. I’m not fully on board, and I think it really depends on future episodes on whether I would keep on watching it or now.

I know that recent dramas are trying not to stick to one genre, and there were some unique combination in the recent dramas we’ve seen. This is probably the weirdest one I’ve seen, and I don’t mean it in a good way. I’m not saying the drama is bad, because it’s not – but I just can’t digest all the points in this drama.

I avoid political dramas as much as possible, and I like watching medical dramas – so this combination of both political-medical, and even first love romance, is not exactly a favourable combination to me. And, I personally dislike Jin Se Yeon, so her being cast can be considered a negative for me as well.

Basically, I’m checking this drama out solely for the sake of Lee Jong Suk, Park Hae Jin & Kang So Ra.

THOUGHTS & DISCUSSION

I would agree that the first two episodes can be considered pretty good. The pace was good, and everything moved along pretty fast. The romance was also good.

However, because I’m not a fan of political dramas and Jin Se Yeon – I find that the whole north-south war thing a bit boring and ridiculous and not really needed. Maybe the drama wants a little bit of edge, thus the whole political thing, but it’s just not my cup of tea.

I just don’t see how political wars and doctors have anything to do with each other. Medical dramas have plenty of hospital politics, and that alone sometime drives me nuts. Imagine, having that and nation’s politics together…..that’s just…. mentally difficult for me. AHAHAHAHA.

I think my decision to watch or drop this drama would depend on future episodes, on whether they would focus more on medical or politics and if everything is balanced well. I like Kang So Ra and Park Hae Jin, and if they’re not going to be on my screen often, I’m definitely out.

I really hope they focus on more surgeries and not so much on politics or first love look-a-like, but then again, that’s part of the plot. I’ll have to wait and see.

In case, you’re confused, let me say it again – it’s wasn’t a bad first two episodes, it can be considered pretty good – it’s just not my cup of tea. Yet.

2 thoughts on “POV DISCUSSION: Dr. Stranger Episode 1 – 2 (Review)

Leave a comment